

EETD Retreat 2017/2018

by Dr Siow Chun Lim

Dr Siow Chun Lim is currently the Associate Editor of Journal of Engineering Science and Technology and is also an active reviewer for several conferences and journals.

On 15th-16th July 2017, the committee members of Electrical Engineering Technical Division (EETD) for the 2017-2018 session has completed a brainstorming retreat session at Janda Baik.

The attendees are:

- 1. Ir. Chong Chew Fan
- 2. Ir. Francis Xavier
- 3. Ir. Tejinder Singh
- 4. Dr. Siow Chun Lim
- 5. Mr. Alex Looi Tink Huey
- 6. Ir. Ng Win Siau
- 7. Ir. Amir Hussein
- 8. Ir. Faridon
- 9. Ir. Lee Cheng Pay
- 10. Dr. Wong Jianhui
- 11. Dr. Kwan Ban Hoe
- 12. Ir. Gan Tian Eng
- 13. Ir. Yau Chau Fong
- 14. Mr. Chong Swee Long
- 15. Ir. Shamila

On the first day, the terms of reference for each committee newly formed under the new chairmanship have been revisited and refined. The tasks and responsibilities of each committee were clearly outlined to prevent or minimise duplication of effort. This is crucial to optimise resources and manpower when it comes to organising activities for EETD. The five committees are:

- 1. Professional practice committee
- 2. Corporate affairs committee
- 3. Admission, practical training, examination and qualification committee
- 4. Activities committee
- 5. Information and publication committee

On the second day, a brainstorming session on what can be done to improve EETD to better serve the members had taken place. Some of the notable ideas include:

- 1. Entice young members to work with EETD
- 2. Explore the options of webinars
- 3. Train EETD speakers for "Route to PE Talk"
- 4. Engage with branch level committee members
- 5. Continue holding dialogues with key stakeholders and associations related to the electrical industry
- 6. Enhance networking session

The retreat concluded with a group photo as shown below:-

